Review
ChatGPT Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 8 min read
Summary
A flexible, widely adopted general AI assistant with plans for every size, from a free tier to a Business workspace with no training on business data by default and SOC 2 Type 2. It is not a marketing-specific tool, so brand voice and workflow control depend on how you set up custom GPTs and prompts. Pricing: Free plan. Go $8, Plus $20 and Pro from $100 a month for individuals. Business Standard seats are $20 per user per month on annual billing ($25 monthly); Enterprise is custom.
What is ChatGPT and who is it for in 2026?
ChatGPT is OpenAI's general AI assistant for drafting, editing, research, images, voice and custom GPTs. It has Free, Go, Plus and Pro individual plans and Business and Enterprise workspace plans with admin controls and connectors.
Who it suits: Agencies that want a general-purpose AI assistant for drafting, research, ideation and analysis across a whole team.
ChatGPT is OpenAI general AI assistant. It drafts and edits text, researches, creates images, handles voice, and runs custom GPTs, and it sells Free, Go, Plus, and Pro plans for individuals and Business and Enterprise plans for teams.
Agencies use it for drafting, ideation, research, and analysis. This review covers the plans, the workspace controls, and the data terms.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Individuals to enterprises |
| Editorial score | 4.4 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | G2 4.6 |
| Pricing | Free plan. Go $8, Plus $20 and Pro from $100 a month for individuals. Business Standard seats are $20 per user per month on annual billing ($25 monthly); Enterprise is custom. |
How much does ChatGPT cost for agencies in 2026?
ChatGPT has a free plan. Go costs $8 a month and Plus costs $20 a month, and Pro starts at $100 a month with three usage tiers. For teams, Business Standard seats cost $20 per user per month on annual billing and $25 monthly, and Premium seats cost $100 annual or $125 monthly. Enterprise is custom.
Plus adds advanced reasoning, projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, and expanded deep research and memory. Business is for teams of 2 to 200 and adds a secure workspace with SAML SSO, multi-factor authentication, centralized billing, usage analytics, spend controls, and connectors for Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub, and Microsoft 365. Premium seats have five times the usage of Standard seats and no five-hour limit.
Enterprise adds SCIM, Enterprise Key Management, user analytics, custom data retention, 24/7 priority support, SLAs, and data residency in ten regions. Business and Enterprise can buy credits for more access.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 per month (monthly billing) | Unlimited text chats with limited uploads, images, voice and deep research |
| Go | $8 per month (monthly billing) | More messages, uploads, images, voice and longer memory |
| Plus | $20 per month (monthly billing) | Advanced reasoning, projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, expanded deep research |
| Pro | $100 per month (monthly billing) | From; three usage tiers, pro reasoning, maximum deep research and memory |
| Business Standard | $20 per month (annual billing); $25 monthly | Workspace seat; SAML SSO, MFA, connectors, centralized billing, usage analytics |
| Business Premium | $100 per month (annual billing); $125 monthly | 5x Standard usage, no 5-hour limit |
| Enterprise | Custom | SCIM, Enterprise Key Management, data residency in ten regions, custom retention, 24/7 priority support and SLAs |
Is ChatGPT a good fit for agency writing?
Yes as a flexible assistant. G2 reviewers value its versatility across drafting, rewriting, and analysis, and a team workspace lets everyone share GPTs and connect work apps.
It is not built around brand voice or client separation. You create that structure yourself with custom GPTs, instructions, and projects, so agencies should document how each client setup works.
Use the Business plan, not individual plans, for client material, so the data terms and admin controls apply.
What are the data and security terms?
OpenAI states that business data is not used for training by default unless the customer opts in, and that Business and Enterprise completed a SOC 2 Type 2 audit. Data is encrypted with AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 or higher in transit, and a data processing agreement is available for GDPR needs.
ISO 27001 and HIPAA were not stated for Business, and data residency is an Enterprise feature. Mobile apps are available alongside desktop and web.
What integrations, security, and support does ChatGPT offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what ChatGPT states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What ChatGPT offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | Connectors for Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub and Microsoft 365 on Business |
| Security | SOC 2 Type 2 for Business and Enterprise; AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2+ in transit; no training on business data by default; SAML SSO and MFA on Business; SCIM, Enterprise Key Management and data residency in ten regions on Enterprise; ISO 27001 and HIPAA were not stated |
| Support | Enterprise: 24/7 priority support and SLAs; other plan support was not stated |
| Apps | Desktop, web and mobile apps |
What are the pros and cons of ChatGPT for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where ChatGPT helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- A free plan, Go at $8 a month and Plus at $20 a month.
- Business gives Standard seats for $20 per user per month on annual billing, with SAML SSO and connectors for Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub and Microsoft 365.
- No training on business data by default, and SOC 2 Type 2 for Business and Enterprise.
- Custom GPTs can be built and shared inside a workspace, with desktop, web and mobile access.
Cons
- Usage on the free and low-cost plans is limited, and Pro starts at $100 a month.
- Business Premium seats cost $100 per user per month on annual billing.
- ISO 27001, HIPAA and a Business data residency option were not stated; data residency is Enterprise only.
- It is a general assistant, not a tool built around brand voice or content workflow.
What do reviewers say about ChatGPT?
Public review sites give a useful read on how ChatGPT holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.6 / 5 | 3,108 |
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 shows ChatGPT at 4.6 from 3,108 reviews.
- Reviewers value its versatility across many writing and analysis tasks.
- OpenAI says business data is not used for training by default unless the customer opts in.
How does ChatGPT compare with its alternatives?
Next to Claude, ChatGPT is similar in scope with a broader set of image, voice, and agent features, while Claude is known for long-form writing and context handling. Next to Jasper, it is a general assistant rather than a marketing platform. Next to Grammarly, it generates where Grammarly checks. The table compares the options.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | 4.4 / 5 | G2 4.6 | Free plan. Go $8, Plus $20 and Pro from $100 a month for individuals. Business Standard seats are $20 per user per month on annual billing ($25 monthly); Enterprise is custom. | Individuals to enterprises |
| Claude | 4.4 / 5 | G2 4.6 | Free plan. Pro $17 a month on annual billing ($20 monthly); Max from $100 a month. Team Standard $20 and Premium $100 per user per month on annual billing; Enterprise is $20 per seat plus usage. | Individuals to enterprises |
| Jasper | 4.3 / 5 | G2 4.7 | 7-day free trial. Pro $59 per seat per month on annual billing ($69 monthly); Business is custom. | Small teams to enterprises |
| Grammarly | 4.3 / 5 | G2 4.7 | Free plan. Pro is $12 a month with a 7-day free trial (billing period not stated); Enterprise is quoted. | Individuals to enterprises |
How should an agency roll out ChatGPT?
Start on Plus for one person, and build a custom GPT for one repeat task.
Move client material to a Business workspace before you paste anything sensitive.
Document each custom GPT, and review output before it goes to clients.
Who should choose ChatGPT, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether ChatGPT matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose ChatGPT if
- You want a flexible general assistant.
- You want connectors to work apps.
- You want no training on business data by default.
Skip ChatGPT if
- You want built-in brand voices.
- You need ISO 27001 or HIPAA confirmed.
- You need heavy use on a low-cost plan.
What should agencies check before buying ChatGPT?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to ChatGPT, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Use Business for client material.
- Document custom GPT setups.
- Check usage limits.
- Start on Plus.
Is ChatGPT worth it for agencies in 2026?
ChatGPT is a flexible, widely adopted assistant with plans for every size, SOC 2 Type 2, and no training on business data by default.
The trade-offs are limited usage on low-cost plans, a high Pro price, and no built-in brand-voice structure. G2 shows 4.6 from 3,108 reviews. We rate it 4.4 out of 5 for agencies: a strong general assistant.
A flexible, widely adopted general AI assistant with plans for every size, from a free tier to a Business workspace with no training on business data by default and SOC 2 Type 2. It is not a marketing-specific tool, so brand voice and workflow control depend on how you set up custom GPTs and prompts.
Frequently asked questions
- What is ChatGPT best for?
- Agencies that want a general AI assistant for drafting, research, ideation, and analysis across a team.
- How much does ChatGPT cost?
- Plus is $20 a month, and Business Standard seats are $20 per user per month on annual billing. There is a free plan.
- Does ChatGPT train on business data?
- OpenAI states that business data is not used for training by default unless the customer opts in.
- Does ChatGPT have a team plan?
- Yes. Business is for teams of 2 to 200, and Enterprise is custom.
- Is ChatGPT well reviewed?
- G2 shows 4.6 out of 5 from 3,108 reviews.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- ChatGPT pricing page
- OpenAI enterprise privacy page
- G2