Review

Help Scout Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons

By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 8 min read

Summary

A friendly, email-like help desk with a free plan, SOC 2 Type 2, 100+ integrations and mobile apps. Prices are per user and shown annually only, and advanced workflows, SLAs and SSO sit on the higher plans. Pricing: Free plan for 5 users. Standard $25, Plus $45 and Pro $75 per user per month on annual billing; AI Answers is $0.75 per resolution.

What is Help Scout and who is it for in 2026?

Help Scout is a help desk with a shared inbox, a Docs knowledge base, Beacon live chat and contact forms, workflows, SLAs and reporting. It has a free plan for up to five users and Standard, Plus and Pro plans priced per user, with an AI Answers add-on priced per resolution.

Who it suits: Agencies that handle client support, or run support for clients, and want a human, email-style help desk with a free start.

Help Scout is a help desk built to feel like email. It combines a shared inbox, a Docs knowledge base, Beacon live chat and contact forms, workflows, SLAs, and reporting, with a free plan for up to five users and three paid plans priced per user.

Agencies use it to handle their own client support and to set up support for clients who want a lighter tool than the enterprise suites. This review covers the pricing, the security evidence, and where it stops short.

Help Scout at a glance
DetailSummary
Best forSmall teams to mid-size
Editorial score4.2 / 5
Review-site ratingsG2 4.4
PricingFree plan for 5 users. Standard $25, Plus $45 and Pro $75 per user per month on annual billing; AI Answers is $0.75 per resolution.

How much does Help Scout cost for agencies in 2026?

Help Scout has a free plan for up to five users with one inbox and one Docs site. Standard costs $25 per user per month, Plus costs $45, and Pro costs $75, with annual billing selected on the page, which shows about a 16 percent saving. Monthly prices were not displayed.

Standard adds multiple inboxes, live chat and SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger, multiple knowledge bases, basic workflows, and an AI inbox assistant. Plus adds advanced workflows, two SLA policies, a secure customer portal, unlimited AI drafts, round robin routing, and Salesforce, Jira, and HubSpot integrations. Pro adds unlimited workflows and SLAs, SSO and SAML, HIPAA compliance, up to 50 light users, and a dedicated onboarding specialist.

An AI Answers add-on resolves customer requests and is billed at $0.75 per resolution, with a three-month free trial and prepaid discounts. Because it is a per-resolution charge, estimate how many conversations the AI could handle before you turn it on.

Help Scout plans and pricing (checked October 2026)
PlanPriceWhat stands out
Free$05 users, 1 inbox, 1 Docs site
Standard$25 per user per month (annual billing)Multiple inboxes; live chat and SMS; WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger; multiple knowledge bases; basic workflows; AI inbox assistant
Plus$45 per user per month (annual billing)Standard plus advanced workflows, two SLA policies, secure customer portal, unlimited AI drafts, round robin routing, Salesforce, Jira and HubSpot
Pro$75 per user per month (annual billing)Plus unlimited workflows and SLA policies, SSO/SAML, HIPAA, up to 50 light users, onboarding specialist, strategic account manager

Is Help Scout a good fit for agency support?

Yes for small and mid-size teams. G2 reviewers value the simple, email-like feel, and the free plan makes it easy to start with a single inbox for your own team.

It is lighter than the enterprise suites. If you need deep telephony, complex routing, or a huge app marketplace, check whether Plus or Pro covers it or whether a larger tool fits better.

A practical pattern for agencies is one inbox per client or per service line, with saved replies and tags so the team answers consistently.

How strong are Help Scout security and support?

Help Scout states SOC 2 Type 2 certification for security and availability, HIPAA compliance with a signed business associate agreement, hosting on AWS, and periodic independent penetration tests. SSO and SAML are Pro features. GDPR and two-factor authentication were not stated on the pages we checked.

Standard has email support, and Plus and Pro get priority email support, with an onboarding specialist and a customer success manager offered as add-ons on lower plans. Support hours were not stated. Mobile apps are available for iOS and Android.

What integrations, security, and support does Help Scout offer?

Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Help Scout states publicly, as checked in October 2026.

Help Scout integrations, security, support, and apps
AreaWhat Help Scout offers
Integrations100+ apps including Salesforce and HubSpot, plus webhooks and OAuth apps
SecuritySOC 2 Type 2 for security and availability; HIPAA compliance with a signed BAA; SSO/SAML on Pro; Hosted on AWS; periodic independent penetration tests; GDPR and 2FA were not stated
SupportStandard: email support; Plus and Pro: priority email; onboarding specialist and customer success manager as add-ons; Support hours were not stated
AppsiOS and Android apps

What are the pros and cons of Help Scout for agencies?

Here is a quick summary of where Help Scout helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.

Pros

  • A free plan for up to 5 users with 1 inbox and 1 Docs site.
  • Standard from $25 per user per month on annual billing, with live chat, SMS and social channels.
  • SOC 2 Type 2 certification, SSO/SAML on Pro and HIPAA compliance with a BAA.
  • Mobile apps on iOS and Android, and 100+ integrations.

Cons

  • Monthly-billing prices were not shown; prices are annual (the page shows a 16% saving).
  • Advanced workflows, a secure customer portal and Salesforce, Jira and HubSpot integrations need Plus.
  • Pro costs $75 per user per month and includes only up to 50 light users.
  • GDPR, 2FA and support hours were not stated; an onboarding specialist and success manager are paid add-ons on lower plans.

What do reviewers say about Help Scout?

Public review sites give a useful read on how Help Scout holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.

Help Scout ratings on review sites
SourceRatingNumber of reviews
G24.4 / 5431

Recurring reviewer themes

  • G2 shows Help Scout at 4.4 from 431 reviews.
  • Reviewers value the simple, email-like feel for support teams.
  • The AI Answers add-on costs $0.75 per resolution with a three-month free trial.

How does Help Scout compare with its alternatives?

Next to Intercom, Help Scout is simpler and cheaper per seat, while Intercom leads on AI and has a broader security stack. Next to Zendesk, it is easier to run but has far fewer integrations and less configurability. The table compares the three.

Help Scout compared with alternatives
ToolEditorial scoreReview-site ratingsPricingBest for
Help Scout4.2 / 5G2 4.4Free plan for 5 users. Standard $25, Plus $45 and Pro $75 per user per month on annual billing; AI Answers is $0.75 per resolution.Small teams to mid-size
Intercom4.4 / 5G2 4.514-day card-free trial. Essential $19, Advanced $85 and Expert $132 per seat per month on annual billing; Fin costs $0.99 per outcome.Small teams to enterprises
Zendesk4.3 / 5G2 4.314-day free trial. Support Team $19, Suite Team $55 and Suite Professional $115 per agent per month on annual billing ($25, $69 and $149 monthly); Suite Enterprise is quoted.Mid-size teams to enterprises

How should an agency roll out Help Scout?

Start on the free plan with one shared inbox, and set up saved replies and tags.

Add a Docs site and Beacon on one client site, and see whether deflection improves.

Move to Standard or Plus only when you need more inboxes, channels, or advanced workflows.

Who should choose Help Scout, and who should skip it?

No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Help Scout matches how your team works before you start a trial.

Choose Help Scout if

  • You want a simple, email-like help desk.
  • You want a free plan for a small team.
  • You want SOC 2 Type 2 and mobile apps.

Skip Help Scout if

  • You need a huge app marketplace.
  • You need monthly prices shown up front.
  • You need deep telephony and routing.

What should agencies check before buying Help Scout?

Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Help Scout, ideally during a trial on a real client account.

Pre-purchase checklist

  • Count users and inboxes.
  • Decide whether you need Plus for advanced workflows.
  • Estimate AI Answers resolutions.
  • Start on the free plan.

Is Help Scout worth it for agencies in 2026?

Help Scout is a friendly, email-like help desk with a free plan, SOC 2 Type 2, 100 or more integrations, and mobile apps.

The trade-offs are annual-only prices shown, advanced features on Plus and Pro, and unstated GDPR and support hours. G2 shows 4.4 from 431 reviews. We rate it 4.2 out of 5 for agencies: the easiest help desk to adopt.

A friendly, email-like help desk with a free plan, SOC 2 Type 2, 100+ integrations and mobile apps. Prices are per user and shown annually only, and advanced workflows, SLAs and SSO sit on the higher plans.

Frequently asked questions

What is Help Scout best for?
Small and mid-size teams that want a simple, email-like help desk with a free plan.
How much does Help Scout cost?
Standard is $25 per user per month, Plus is $45, and Pro is $75, with annual billing.
Does Help Scout have a free plan?
Yes. It covers up to five users, one inbox, and one Docs site.
Does Help Scout have AI?
Yes. AI Answers is a paid add-on at $0.75 per resolution, and Standard includes an AI inbox assistant.
Is Help Scout well reviewed?
G2 shows 4.4 out of 5 from 431 reviews.

Sources

Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:

  • Help Scout pricing page
  • Help Scout security page
  • G2