Review

HoneyBook Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons

By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 7 min read

Summary

A polished, easy client-management tool for solo and small service businesses, with flat prices and unlimited clients on every plan. It is not a sales pipeline CRM for larger agencies, team seats are limited below Premium, and monthly prices were not shown. Pricing: 30-day free trial. Starter $29, Essentials $49 and Premium $109 per month, billed yearly.

What is HoneyBook and who is it for in 2026?

HoneyBook is a client management platform with proposals, contracts, invoices and payments, a client portal, scheduling, automations and an AI assistant. It sells Starter, Essentials and Premium plans billed yearly, with a 30-day free trial.

Who it suits: Freelancers, creative studios and very small agencies that want proposals, contracts and payments in one place.

HoneyBook is a client management platform for independent service businesses. It combines proposals, contracts, invoices and payments, a client portal, scheduling, automations, and an AI assistant, with unlimited clients and projects on every plan.

It suits freelancers, studios, and very small agencies better than larger teams. This review covers the plans, the team-seat limits, and the gaps.

HoneyBook at a glance
DetailSummary
Best forFreelancers and very small teams
Editorial score4.1 / 5
Review-site ratingsG2 4.5
Pricing30-day free trial. Starter $29, Essentials $49 and Premium $109 per month, billed yearly.

How much does HoneyBook cost for agencies in 2026?

HoneyBook has a 30-day free trial. Starter costs $29 per month billed yearly, Essentials costs $49, and Premium costs $109. A standalone monthly price was not listed, and promotional discounts appear on the page.

Starter includes unlimited clients and projects, invoices and payments, proposals and contracts, a client portal, up to two live lead forms, and HoneyBook AI. Essentials adds a scheduler, automations, QuickBooks Online integration, up to two team members, up to ten lead forms, SMS reminders, and the option to remove HoneyBook branding. Premium adds unlimited team members, priority support, multiple companies, advanced reports, and unlimited lead forms.

Team size is the main cost driver. Starter does not list team seats and Essentials allows two, so an agency with more than a couple of people will need Premium.

HoneyBook plans and pricing (checked October 2026)
PlanPriceWhat stands out
Starter$29 per month (annual billing)Unlimited clients and projects, invoices, proposals and contracts, client portal, up to 2 lead forms, HoneyBook AI
Essentials$49 per month (annual billing)Starter plus scheduler, automations, QuickBooks Online integration, up to 2 team members, up to 10 lead forms, SMS reminders, remove branding
Premium$109 per month (annual billing)Essentials plus unlimited team members, priority support, multiple companies, advanced reports, unlimited lead forms

Is HoneyBook a good fit for a small agency?

For solo operators and very small studios, yes. G2 reviewers praise ease of use and managing contracts, invoices, and client communication in one place, and flat plans keep costs predictable.

It is a client-management tool, not a sales pipeline CRM. Agencies that run a structured outbound pipeline, or that have a larger team, will want a real CRM.

What are the limits and unknowns?

Some reviewers say accounting features need improvement, and QuickBooks Online integration starts on Essentials. Security, compliance, support hours, and mobile apps were not stated on the pricing page; only Premium lists priority support.

Check whether your clients need specific payment or data-handling terms before you move contracts and invoices into it.

For a one-person studio, the biggest benefit is time. A single flow that sends a proposal, collects a signature, and takes the first payment can replace several tools, and clients see one branded experience from inquiry to final invoice.

As the team grows, review the seat limits and the accounting integration before you outgrow the plan. Moving contracts and invoice history later is possible but takes effort, so choose a plan that fits where you expect to be in a year.

Finally, test the lead forms with a real inquiry. How the first message arrives, who is notified, and how quickly a proposal can go out often matters more to a small studio than any single feature on the pricing page.

What integrations, security, and support does HoneyBook offer?

Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what HoneyBook states publicly, as checked in October 2026.

HoneyBook integrations, security, support, and apps
AreaWhat HoneyBook offers
IntegrationsQuickBooks Online on Essentials and above; other integrations were not listed on the pricing page
SecuritySecurity and compliance details were not stated on the pricing page
SupportPriority support on Premium; other support options were not stated
AppsMobile apps were not stated on the pricing page

What are the pros and cons of HoneyBook for agencies?

Here is a quick summary of where HoneyBook helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.

Pros

  • Unlimited clients and projects on every plan.
  • Proposals, contracts, invoices, payments and a client portal from $29 a month billed yearly.
  • Essentials adds a scheduler, automations and QuickBooks Online integration.
  • A 30-day free trial.

Cons

  • Essentials allows only 2 team members and Premium unlocks unlimited team members.
  • Monthly-billing prices were not shown; prices are stated as billed yearly.
  • Lead forms are capped at 2 on Starter and 10 on Essentials.
  • Security, support hours and mobile detail were not stated on the pricing page.

What do reviewers say about HoneyBook?

Public review sites give a useful read on how HoneyBook holds up after the first month. The scores below were checked in October 2026 and will have moved slightly since.

HoneyBook ratings on review sites
SourceRatingNumber of reviews
G24.5 / 5250

Recurring reviewer themes

  • G2 shows HoneyBook at 4.5 from 250 reviews.
  • Reviewers praise ease of use and managing contracts, invoices and client communication in one place.
  • Some reviewers say the accounting features need improvement.

How does HoneyBook compare with its alternatives?

Next to Dubsado, HoneyBook is more polished and has a larger review base, while Dubsado is cheaper and more customizable. Next to HubSpot and Pipedrive, it manages proposals, contracts, and payments rather than a sales pipeline. Next to Bonsai, it has a similar scope with different pricing. The table compares the options.

HoneyBook compared with alternatives
ToolEditorial scoreReview-site ratingsPricingBest for
HoneyBook4.1 / 5G2 4.530-day free trial. Starter $29, Essentials $49 and Premium $109 per month, billed yearly.Freelancers and very small teams
Dubsado3.9 / 5G2 4.321-day free trial. Starter $35 and Premier $55 per month, or $335 and $525 a year on annual billing.Freelancers and small teams
Bonsai3.9 / 5Capterra 4.6, G2 4.3, Trustpilot 4.57-day free trial. About $9-$49 per user per month on annual billing (Basic to Elite).Freelancers and solo consultants
HubSpot4.4 / 5G2 4.4Free tools for up to 2 users. Sales Hub Starter $7 and Professional $90 per seat per month on annual billing ($20 and $100 monthly); Enterprise starts at $150 per seat.Small teams to enterprises

How should an agency roll out HoneyBook?

Start the 30-day trial, and set up one proposal, contract, and invoice template.

Run one real client through the flow, from inquiry to payment.

Check team-seat needs before you choose between Essentials and Premium.

Who should choose HoneyBook, and who should skip it?

No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether HoneyBook matches how your team works before you start a trial.

Choose HoneyBook if

  • You are a solo operator or very small studio.
  • You want proposals, contracts, and payments together.
  • You want a 30-day trial.

Skip HoneyBook if

  • You have a larger team on a small budget.
  • You need a sales pipeline.
  • You need security details confirmed first.

What should agencies check before buying HoneyBook?

Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to HoneyBook, ideally during a trial on a real client account.

Pre-purchase checklist

  • Count team members.
  • Confirm QuickBooks needs.
  • Check promotional pricing terms.
  • Trial with one real client.

Is HoneyBook worth it for agencies in 2026?

HoneyBook is a polished, easy client-management tool with flat prices, unlimited clients, and a 30-day trial.

The trade-offs are limited team seats below Premium, no monthly price shown, and thin security detail. G2 shows 4.5 from 250 reviews. We rate it 4.1 out of 5 for agencies: best for solo and very small teams.

A polished, easy client-management tool for solo and small service businesses, with flat prices and unlimited clients on every plan. It is not a sales pipeline CRM for larger agencies, team seats are limited below Premium, and monthly prices were not shown.

Frequently asked questions

What is HoneyBook best for?
Freelancers and very small agencies that want proposals, contracts, invoices, and a client portal in one tool.
How much does HoneyBook cost?
Starter is $29 per month billed yearly, Essentials is $49, and Premium is $109.
Does HoneyBook have a free trial?
Yes. It offers a 30-day free trial.
How many team members can I add?
Essentials allows up to two and Premium allows unlimited team members.
Is HoneyBook well reviewed?
G2 shows 4.5 out of 5 from 250 reviews.

Sources

Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:

  • HoneyBook pricing page
  • G2