Review
Runway Review for Agencies (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons
By Red Kite Search Agency Created Updated 8 min read
Summary
A leading creative AI video tool with strong security evidence and predictable credit plans. The pricing page shows no team or seat features, projects are capped at 3 to 10, and G2 lists 106 reviews without a score in the snippet we read. Pricing: Free $0 with 125 one-time credits. Standard $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly, for 625 credits and 3 projects. Pro $35 monthly or $28 yearly for 2,250 credits and 5 projects. Max $95 monthly or $76 yearly for 9,500 credits and 10 projects.
What is Runway and who is it for in 2026?
Runway generates and edits video and images with AI models. It sells a Free plan with one-time credits, and Standard, Pro and Max plans with monthly credits and project limits. The pricing page lists no team seats, and security evidence is strong.
Who it suits: Creative teams and agencies that generate and edit video clips for ads and social content.
Runway generates and edits video and images with AI models. You describe a scene or upload footage, spend credits, and download clips for ads, social content and concepts.
Agencies use it for creative concepts and short clips. This review covers the plans, the project limits, the security evidence, and the gaps.
| Detail | Summary |
|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers to creative studios |
| Editorial score | 4.3 / 5 |
| Review-site ratings | No review-site rating found |
| Pricing | Free $0 with 125 one-time credits. Standard $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly, for 625 credits and 3 projects. Pro $35 monthly or $28 yearly for 2,250 credits and 5 projects. Max $95 monthly or $76 yearly for 9,500 credits and 10 projects. |
How much does Runway cost for agencies in 2026?
Free costs $0 and gives 125 one-time credits. Standard costs $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly, for 625 credits, no watermark and three projects. Pro costs $35 monthly or $28 yearly for 2,250 credits and five projects. Max costs $95 monthly or $76 yearly for 9,500 credits and ten projects.
Annual totals are $144 for Standard, $336 for Pro and $912 for Max. Projects are the nearest unit to a client, and Standard annual works out at about $4 a project a month.
No team seats or client workspaces were listed on the pricing page, so ask Runway how several people share one plan. Check the vendor's terms for commercial use and the rights to any likeness or voice before you deliver AI-generated work to a client.
| Plan | Price | What stands out |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 per month (monthly billing) | 125 one-time credits |
| Standard | $12 per month (annual billing); $15 monthly | 625 credits a month, no watermark, 3 projects |
| Pro | $28 per month (annual billing); $35 monthly | 2,250 credits a month, 5 projects |
| Max | $76 per month (annual billing); $95 monthly | 9,500 credits a month, 10 projects |
Is Runway a good fit for agencies?
For creative concepts and short clips, yes. Credits are predictable, projects give a rough client separation, and security evidence is strong.
It is not a team platform on the evidence we could read: no seat features were listed, and projects are capped at ten on Max. Larger agencies should ask about team and enterprise terms.
G2 lists 106 reviews without a score in the snippet we read, so rely on a trial rather than ratings.
Trial the tool on a real client job rather than a demo project. Note how long setup takes, how many credits or minutes one finished asset uses, and which questions the team has to ask support. That record is the best guide to whether the plan you picked is the right one.
Agree who owns the tool inside the agency. A named owner keeps brand kits and templates tidy, watches credit use against plan limits, and reviews the bill when renewal approaches. Without one, small tools tend to collect forgotten seats and unused credits.
Set a review step before anything reaches a client. AI output can contain odd details, so agree who checks each asset, what counts as acceptable, and how corrections are logged.
What are the integration, security, and support facts?
Runway states SOC 2 Type II compliance and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification, publishes a data processing addendum, and lets enterprise customers request a SOC 2 Type II report through sales or its Trust Center.
Integrations, GDPR, SSO and 2FA were not read, and a help center is published. A mobile app was not stated.
Before you buy, ask the vendor for the current plan limits in writing and note the date. Credits, minutes, seat counts and trial terms change often, and a screenshot of what you were promised makes any later conversation about billing simpler.
Plan a review at ninety days. Compare actual use with the plan you bought, and downgrade or switch if half the credits sit unused. Small agencies save most by trimming plans they have outgrown or never fully used.
What integrations, security, and support does Runway offer?
Features beyond price decide whether a tool fits your agency stack and your clients' security questions. This is what Runway states publicly, as checked in October 2026.
| Area | What Runway offers |
|---|---|
| Integrations | Integrations were not stated on the pricing page |
| Security | The vendor states SOC 2 Type II compliance and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification, publishes a DPA, and offers a Trust Center; GDPR, SSO and 2FA were not read |
| Support | A help center; other support channels were not stated |
| Apps | A mobile app was not stated |
What are the pros and cons of Runway for agencies?
Here is a quick summary of where Runway helps agencies and where it can get in the way, based on its plans and public feedback.
Pros
- Standard costs $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly, for 625 credits with no watermark.
- Max costs $76 a month billed yearly for 9,500 credits and 10 projects.
- The vendor states SOC 2 Type II compliance and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification.
- A Free plan gives 125 one-time credits to test.
Cons
- No team or seat features were listed on the pricing page.
- Projects are capped at 3 on Standard, 5 on Pro and 10 on Max.
- Free credits are one-time, not monthly.
- Commercial-use terms and a mobile app were not stated on the pricing page.
What do reviewers say about Runway?
Runway has little public review-site feedback so far. G2 lists 106 reviews for Runway but the page we read showed no overall score, so none is recorded. The themes below come from independent reviews and user feedback instead.
Recurring reviewer themes
- G2 lists 106 reviews for Runway; the snippet we read showed no overall score.
- A G2 reviewer calls it fast, easy and creative for AI video.
How does Runway compare with its alternatives?
Next to Leonardo, Runway is stronger on video and Leonardo is stronger on image models and team plans. Next to HeyGen, it generates cinematic clips where HeyGen makes presenter video. Next to Canva, it generates rather than designs. The table compares the options.
| Tool | Editorial score | Review-site ratings | Pricing | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Runway | 4.3 / 5 | No review-site rating found | Free $0 with 125 one-time credits. Standard $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly, for 625 credits and 3 projects. Pro $35 monthly or $28 yearly for 2,250 credits and 5 projects. Max $95 monthly or $76 yearly for 9,500 credits and 10 projects. | Freelancers to creative studios |
| Leonardo.Ai | 4.3 / 5 | G2 4.5 | Solo plans, monthly billing: Free $0 with 150 fast tokens a day, Essential $12, Premium $30 and Ultimate $60 a month. Team plans per seat: Starter $72 a month (3 seats, $24 each) and Growth $144 (3 seats, $48 each). A pay-as-you-go API and custom Enterprise plans exist. A yearly toggle advertises up to 20% off. | Freelancers to creative teams |
| HeyGen | 4.6 / 5 | G2 4.8 | Free $0 with 3 watermarked videos a month. Creator $29 a month, or $24 billed yearly, for 600 credits. Pro $49 a month for 1,000 credits and up. Business $149 a month for 1,500 credits with a shared workspace and extra seats at $20 a month. Enterprise is custom. | Freelancers to enterprise teams |
| Canva | 4.5 / 5 | G2 4.7 | Free plan. Pro $144 a year for one person and Business $250 a year per person, with yearly billing selected (save from 16%); Enterprise is quoted. | Individuals to enterprises |
How should an agency roll out Runway?
Start on Free with the 125 credits.
Move to Standard for no watermark.
Move to Pro or Max as projects and credits grow.
Who should choose Runway, and who should skip it?
No tool fits every agency. Use these lists to check whether Runway matches how your team works before you start a trial.
Choose Runway if
- You generate cinematic clips and images.
- You want strong security evidence.
- You want predictable credit plans.
Skip Runway if
- You need team seats and workspaces.
- You need avatar presenter video.
- You need stated commercial terms on the pricing page.
What should agencies check before buying Runway?
Small details in plans and limits decide whether a tool works in practice. Confirm these points before you commit to Runway, ideally during a trial on a real client account.
Pre-purchase checklist
- Estimate credits per clip.
- Count projects.
- Ask about team terms.
- Start on the Free plan.
Is Runway worth it for agencies in 2026?
Runway is a leading creative AI video tool with strong security evidence and predictable credit plans.
The trade-offs are no listed team features, project caps and an unreadable G2 score. We rate it 4.3 out of 5 for agencies: strong for creative video.
A leading creative AI video tool with strong security evidence and predictable credit plans. The pricing page shows no team or seat features, projects are capped at 3 to 10, and G2 lists 106 reviews without a score in the snippet we read.
Frequently asked questions
- What is Runway best for?
- Creative teams that generate and edit video clips and images for ads and social.
- How much does Runway cost?
- Standard is $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly.
- Is there a free plan?
- Yes, with 125 one-time credits.
- Does Runway have team seats?
- None were listed on the pricing page.
- Is Runway secure?
- It states SOC 2 Type II compliance and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification.
Sources
Prices, plan limits, and ratings were gathered in October 2026 from:
- Runway pricing page
- Runway data security page
- G2